John Logan


Stars from the theatre and film industries joined together Monday night April 22 at the Edison Ballroom to celebrate John Logan (playwright and screen writer), the recipient of the 19th annual Eugene O’Neill Theater Center’s Monte Cristo Award.
Lin-Manuel Miranda, last year’s honoree kicked-off the night with opening remarks, speaking about the O’Neill’s support of ‘In The Heights’ and how his work was rejected before the later success.

Lin-Manuel Miranda

Betsy Wolfe


Monte Cristo Award

Special guests for the evening included Judith Light, Kate Baldwin, Robyn Hurder, Betsy Wolfe and more.
The Monte Cristo Award is presented to a prominent theater artist each year in recognition of a distinguished career exemplifying Eugene O’Neill’s “pioneering spirit, unceasing artistic commitment, and excellence.” Past recipients of the Award include Lin-Manuel Miranda, Judith Light, Meryl Streep, Michael Douglas, James Earl Jones, Nathan Lane, Harold Prince, and George C. Wolfe.
The O’Neill is the country’s preeminent organization dedicated to the development of new works and new voices for the American theater. Founded in 1964, and named in honor of Eugene O’Neill, four-time Pulitzer Prize-winner and America’s only playwright to win the Nobel Prize in Literature. The Launchpad of the American theater, the O’Neill has been home to more than 1,000 new works for the stage and thousands more emerging artists. Scores of projects developed at the O’Neill have gone on to full production at theaters around the world.
Photos –  Filming/Interviews/Edits: Shoshana Medney