The 2023 Lucille Lortel Awards for Outstanding Achievement Off-Broadway were given to recipients in 15 categories, with four honorary awards also bestowed. The Awards were distributed in a ceremony at NYU Skirball hosted by stars of stage and screen: Kevin Cahoon (Tony nominee, “Shucked”), D’Arcy Carden (“The Thanksgiving Play”), Crystal Lucas-Perry (Tony nominee, “Ain’t No Mo’”), Bonnie Milligan (Tony nominee, “Kimberly Akimbo”), Arian Moayed (Tony nominee, “A Doll’s House”), and Tamara Tunie (The New Group’s “Bernarda’s Daughters”). The Lucille Lortel Awards are produced by the Off-Broadway League and Lucille Lortel Theatre, with additional support provided by TDF.

(L-R) Christopher Bannow, Brian Quijada, Mitchell Winter, Esco Jouléy, and Nicole Villamill (Photo by Slaven Vlasic/Getty Images for Lucille Lortel Awards)

“Wolf Play” was the big winner with a total of five Lortel Awards including Outstanding PlayDirectorEnsembleScenic Design, and Sound Design. “Titaníque,” the Celine Dion-inspired comedy musical took home three awards including Outstanding MusicalOutstanding Lead Performer in a Musical, and Outstanding Costume Design. Oskar Eustis accepted the Outstanding Revival award for The Public Theatre’s production of “A Raisin in the Sun.” In a surprise moment, the Edith Oliver Service to Off-Broadway Award was presented by Off-Broadway League President, Casey York, and Lucille Lortel Theatre Executive Director, George Forbes, to Victoria Bailey, who has served for 20+ years as Executive Director of TDF.

Special honorees this year included Lifetime Achievement Award recipient Stephen McKinley HendersonPlaywrights’ Sidewalk posthumous inductee Ntozake Shange, and A.R.T./New York, honored for their Body of Work. See full list of nominees and winners at

Featured Image: Marla Mindelle