by Sandi Durell

Hosted by comic, writer, actor Cole Escola (appearing as a plethora of characters), the 65th Annual Obie Awards were presented virtually in a pre-recorded YouTube video that lasted about two hours on June 14. The celebration of Off- and Off-Off Broadway theater by the American Theatre Wing (Heather Hitchens, President & CEO) and The Village Voice (Peter Barbey, CEO) proudly honored a the many in numerous categories as well as awarding many special citations.

Guest presenters included Clint Ramos, Craig Lucas, Cynthia Erivo, Dominique Morisseau, Eisa Davis, Emilio Sosa, Heather Hitchens, Heidi Schreck, Katrina Lenk, LaTanya Richardson Jackson, Liesl Tommy, Malcolm Gets, Rachel Chavkin, Rachel Hauck, Sahr Ngaujah, Sam Pinkleton and Saycon Sengbloh and special citation was awarded to Michael Feingold, longtime Village Voice theatre critic and former Obie Chairman, for his 43 years of work as a leading voice in theater criticism. In addition, the Obies will establish a Special Citation to be given annually in Mr. Feingold’s name – the MICHAEL FEINGOLD AWARD.


Receiving special recognition of the 25th Anniversary of its Obie Award wins, were members of the York Theatre Company revival of Merrily We Roll Along joined by members of the original Broadway and 2019 Fiasco Theater revival casts for a special performance of “Our Time.”

Songwriter and performer Shaina Taub (The Devil Wears PradaSuffragist) performed during the In Memoriam.

You can view the ceremony and find the complete list of winners at


All Casts ‘Merrily We Roll Along



Katrina Lenk

Dominique Morisseau