Photo: Lia Chang



Tony Award®-winning Playwright David Henry Hwang has been elected the Chair of the American Theatre Wing. Having joined the board of the American Theatre Wing in 2009, Mr. Hwang will succeed current Chair William Ivey Long, who concludes his four-year term this year (the maximum number of consecutive years permitted). Mr. Long will maintain an active role in the Wing as he takes on the responsibilities as Immediate Past Chair.

Mr. Hwang will serve as Chair of the Wing’s Board of Directors, and will be joined by Co-Vice Chairs Natasha Katz, Marva Smalls, and Pamela Zilly; Treasurer James Higgins; Secretary Jane Fearer Safer; and Immediate Past Chair William Ivey Long. The Wing’s President and CEO Heather Hitchens recently completed her fifth full year in that role.

New appointments to the American Theatre Wing’s Advisory Committee include Robyn Coles, Alia Jones-Harvey, Lucy Liu, Patti LuPone, Charles Tolbert, Liesl Tommy, Sergio Trujillo, and Lia Vollack.