Sheldon Harnick Headshot.Photo Credit Margery Gray Harnick


The Drama League (Executive Director, Gabriel Shanks) will recognize three outstanding stage luminaries at this year’s 82nd Annual Drama League Awards, set for Friday afternoon, May 20, 2016 at the Marriott Marquis Times Square (1535 Broadway).

Ivo van Hove Headshot.Photo credit Jan Versweyveld

The 2016 recipients are as follows:  Deaf West Theatre (David J. Kurs, Artistic Director) will receive the Unique Contribution to the Theater Award; Tony®, Grammy®, and Pulitzer Prize winner Sheldon Harnick will receive the Distinguished Achievement in Musical Theater Award; and Olivier® Award winner Ivo van Hove will receive The Founders Award for Excellence in Directing.



The 82nd Annual Drama League Awards Ceremony and Luncheon includes a nominees cocktail reception, luncheon, and awards presentation and will be held at the Marriott Marquis Times Square in the Broadway Ballroom (1535 Broadway) on Friday, May 20, 2016 beginning at 11:30 a.m.


For more information about the Drama League Awards, please call (212) 244-9494 or visit