Jano Herbosch – Board President


Cynthia Erivo


Broadway Boys


Adam Kantor, Alex Brightman





The Drama League (Gabriel Shanks, Executive Director; Roger T. Danforth, Artistic Director)  celebrated a major milestone tonight that few organizations have achieved…its 100th year of service to the American theatre community. The 100th Birthday Party was held on January 11, 2016 at Feinstein’s/54 Below (254 West 54th Street, Cellar). The sold-out celebration included cocktails, dinner, speeches and musical performances recognizing the history, achievements, and future of the award-winning arts education organization.









The lineup for the evening’s entertainment included Tony® Award winners Bebe Neuwirth (Chicago), John Gallagher, Jr. (American Idiot), and Lena Hall (Hedwig and the Angry Inch); Broadway stars Cynthia Erivo (The Color Purple), Alex Brightman (School of Rock), Danielle Brooks (The Color Purple), Julie Halston (You Can’t Take It With You), Adam Kantor (Fiddler on the Roof), Daniel Reichard (Jersey Boys), KT Sullivan (Gentlemen Prefer Blondes) and The Broadway Boys: Jesse Nager (Motown), Jesse Johnson (Wicked), Mike Backes (Jersey Boys), Jamarice Daughtry (Beautiful), Gabe Violett (Spring Awakening), and Stephen Michael Kane (Rock of Ages).

They were joined in celebration by dozens of the 300+ alumni of The Drama League’s 34-year-old educational initiative, The Directors Project, including directors Mark Brokaw (Rodgers and Hammerstein’s Cinderella), West Hyler (Cirque du Soleil’s upcoming Broadway musical Paramour), James Bundy (Artistic Director, Yale Repertory Theatre), Davis McCallum (Artistic Director, Hudson Valley Shakespeare Festival), Cara Reichel (Producing Artistic Director, Prospect Theater Company), Jonathan Silverstein (Artistic Director, Keen Company), Michael Barakiva (Interim Artistic Director, Hangar Theatre), Michael Sexton (Artistic Director, The Shakespeare Society), Shelley Butler (Associate Director, It Shoulda Been You), Lisa Rothe, Stephen Brown-Fried, Michael Goldfried, Heidi Marshall, Johanna McKeon, David Mendizábal, Shakina Nayfack, Jerry Ruiz, Danny Sharron, and more. Drama League Directors Project alumna Hannah Ryan (Associate Director, The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time) directs.

Photos: Maryann Lopinto (Pre Show Green Room)