by Michael Stever
Halloween 2016 took off like a scream as founder John Capo kicked off his inaugural FEARnyc festival last week at Manhattan’s historic Cinema Village theater.  One of New York City’s newest and biggest horror film festivals, the event scared the pants off lovers of the macabre and covered a whopping seven days from October 21st thru the 27th. It featured screenings of 65+ new and classic horror films, cast appearances, special events and ended with an awards ceremony and a moving Legacy Honoree tribute to iconic filmmaker, Wes Craven. Craven’s step daughter Nina Tarnawsky accepted the tribute on behalf of Craven’s family and delivered a heart felt address paying homage to his forward thinking vision, and long harbored esteem for his audiences.
Other speakers included ‘Time Out New York’ columnist Joshua Rothkopf, ‘Nightmares on Elm Street’ actor Jsu Garcia and even featured a surprise satellite address from beloved horror ‘damsel in distress,’ Dee Wallace.



Filmmaker Michael Stever was on hand to not only cover highlights from the proceedings, but screen his documentary short film, ‘Resurrecting Carrie’ which has been making the rounds at several festivals and features three time Academy Award nominee Piper Laurie. See the below included featurette produced by Stever, with highlights from one Hell of a bloody fun week.



Award Ceremony winners included;

Best Feature Film: A Beginner’s Guide to Snuff
Best Director: Phillip Guzman, Dead Awake
Best Screenplay: Jeffrey Reddick, Dead Awake
Best Actor: Joey Kern, A Beginner’s Guide to Snuff
Best Actress: Bree Williamson, A Beginner’s Guide to Snuff
Best Documentary Film: Unearthed & Untold: The Path to Pet Sematary
Best Short Film: The Eve
Best Cinematography: A. Vasanth, Awakenings
Best Visual Effects: Andrew Lewitin and Ryan J.Thompson, The Dark Tapes
Best Editing: Michael Swingler, Sickhouse
Best Production Design: Kurt Wehner, Dead Awake
Best Score: Zazu Pitts, Squatters
Best Make-Up Design: Poffo Ortiz, The Possession Experiment
Best Costume Design: Jane Ji, Chateau Sauvignon: Terroir
Best Lighting Design: Ken Stachnik, Clowntown
Best Sound Design: Steven Aram and Travis Cote, The Dark Tapes

2016 Women in Horror Honoree – Adrienne Lovette for Hidden Daylight
Innovative Storytelling – Rick Gawel for Michael Myers: Absolute Evil
Special Citation – The Cast of Lost Creek
Producer of the Year – Chris Gierowski for Don’t Fuck in the Woods and Head

Be sure to visit www.FEARnyc.com to learn more, and congratulations to all the nominees and winners!