George C. Wolfe Honored with 16th Annual Monte Cristo Award


Monday, May 9 esteemed director and playwright George C. Wolfe was honored with the 16th Annual Monte Cristo Award by the Eugene O'Neill Theater Center. Festivities took place at the Edison Ballroom in Times Square.


The Monte Cristo Award is presented to the artist “whose lifetime work has had an extraordinary impact on American theatre.” Wolfe, the award winning director of, among others, such notable shows as  Bring In ‘Da Noise, Bring In ‘Da Funk and Angels in America: Millennium Approaches is currently directing the Tony nominated revival of Shuffle Along, Or, The Making of the Musical Sensation of 1921 and All That Followed.


Past recipients of the Monte Cristo award include Meryl Streep, Christopher Plummer, Michael Douglas, James Earl Jones, Nathan Lane, and many more.


Boldfaced names in attendance at the celebration—hosted by Eugene O'Neill Theater Executive Director Preston Whiteway—included Rosie Perez, Hal Prince, Eisa Davis, Billy Porter, Savion Glover, Judith Light, Sarah Stiles, Max von Essen and Swoosie Kurtz. Theater Pizzazz's JK Clarke was on hand to photograph red carpet arrivals which are here in the image slider after the jump.


  • David Rockwell
  • Jules Fisher
  • Karissa Royster
  • Lisa LaTouche
  • Karissa Royster, Lisa LaTouche
  • Scott Richards, Betsy Richards
  • Forrest McClendon, Rachel Jett
  • Aurin Squire
  • Daniel Green
  • Swoozie Kurtz
  • Preston Whiteway, Tom Viertel
  • Wendy C. Goldberg
  • Tom Viertel
  • Preston Whiteway
  • Preston Sadleir, Sarah Stiles
  • Preston Sadleir
  • Sarah Stiles
  • Preston Whiteway, George C. Wolfe
  • George C. Wolfe
  • George C. Wolfe
  • George C. Wolfe
  • Preston Whiteway, George C. Wolfe, Hal Prince
  • Adrienne Warren
  • Adrienne Warren
  • Ted Chapin
  • Daniel Rowan, Max von Essen
  • Judith Light
  • Preston Whiteway, Judith Light
  • George C Wolfe, Rosie Perez
  • Brandon Victor Dixon
  • Alex Wyse, Cody Lassen
  • Brittany Parks
  • Savion Glover
  • Savion Glover
  • Colby Minifie
  • Heather Henson, Cheryl Henson
  • Adrienne Warren
  • Brittany Parks, Savion Glover
  • Brian Stokes Mitchell
  • Eisa Davis
  • Seth Gelblum
  • Billy Porter





Photos by JK Clarke