The American Theatre Wing (William Ivey Long, Chairman, Board of Trustees; Heather Hitchens, President) and The Village Voice (Josh Fromson, Publisher) are pleased to announce the judges for the 60th Annual OBIE Awards. Longtime OBIE Administration Committee chairman Michael Feingold will be joined by playwright Adam Bock, orchestrator Bruce Coughlin, director Lear deBessonet, scenic designer Mimi Lien, critic David Rooney, Village Voice critic Tom Sellar, and director Liesl Tommy, to form the OBIE Awards judging panel.
“We are very excited to embark on our first year as partners in presenting the OBIE Awards,” remarked Ms. Hitchens and Josh Fromson, publisher of The Village Voice. “Putting together a great judging panel is the single most important step in maintaining the integrity of the OBIE Awards. Michael Feingold’s constant dedication to this work is a tribute to the vision with which the late Jerry Tallmer founded the OBIE Awards to champion the downtown theater scene.”

“I am personally thrilled,” said Michael Feingold, “to have such esteemed artists and critics – including five previous OBIE Award winners – as my colleagues on the OBIE panel this year.”

As was previously announced, the American Theatre Wing has entered into a partnership with The Village Voice to co-present The OBIE Awards, Off Broadway’s Highest Honor. The upcoming OBIE Award Ceremony – the first presentation under this new partnership – will take place in May 2015 and will mark the Award’s 60th anniversary.

Productions that wish to invite consideration from the judges should send information to