(L-R) Julie Gilbert Carol Hall, Carol’s husband seated right. Photo by Steve Pisano



by Sandi Durell


From Carol Hall to Liesl Tommy; Linda Cho to Lileana Blain-Cruz; Jess Chayes to Emily Simoness – the best of all categories of creatives were lauded at the League of Professional Theatre Women’s Awards Celebration  on March 31 at The Times Center followed by the Big Mingle at Sardi’s.  The evening was hosted by Tamara Tunie, with opening remarks by co-Presidents Carmel Owen and Lisa Rothe and introductions by Theresa Rebeck and Daryl Roth.


As a League member, I was proud to witness these extraordinary women duly honored. Below is a list of the Awards and the Presenters.


The Ruth Morley Design Award – presented by Darko Tresjnak to Linda Cho

The Josephine Abady Award – presented by Branden Jacobs-Jenkins to Lileana Blain-Cruz

The Lee Reynolds Award – presented by Zainab Jan (for Lynn Nottage) to Liesl Tommy

The LPTW Lucille Lortel Visionary Award – presented by Mfoniso Udofia, Clare Barron, Samuel D. Hunter to Emily Simoness

The LPTW Lucille Lortel Award – presented by Neil Pepe to Jess Chayes

The Lifetime Achievement Award – presented by Julie Gilbert to Carol Hall


  • Legendary composer/ songwriter Carol Hall, known for songs like “Jenny Rebecca” and “Hard Candy Christmas,”as well as the musical Best Little Whorehouse in Texas, was moved as she accepted the Lifetime Achievement Award from the League of Professional Theatre Women.


In honor of Carol Hall, Bob Stillman (at the piano)  performed “Jenny Rebecca” and Sally Mayes and company (Britt Bonney, Musical Director) performed a medley of songs including “Hard Candy Christmas” and “I Dream in Technicolor.”


The event was produced and directed by Shellen Lubin.


(Photos: Sandi Durell)