Beth Leavel



by Sandi Durell


The 64th Annual Drama Desk Awards, presented by Broadway News, held the nominee press junket at The Green Room 42. It was overflowing with the many nominees in so many categories. The fun is in eliciting the savory bits of information as told by many of the nominees.

This is Part 1 – interviews with many of the actors including Celia Keenan-Bolger (To Kill A Mockingbird), Santino Fontana (Tootsie), Rebecca Naomi Jones (Oklahoma!) Damon Daunno (Oklahoma!), Beth Leavel (The Prom), Brandon Uranowitz (Burn This), George Salazar (Be More Chill), Laurie Metcalf (Hillary and Clinton), Zinab Jah (Boesman and Lena) to name just a few.  To learn more, here’s the video with interviews by Brian Scott Lipton for See below for complete list of 2019 Nominees.

Look for Part 2 video interviews – the creatives!

Photos by JK Clarke will appear separately.

Filming/Editing: Sandi Durell

Visit for a complete list of Nominees


Mary Testa

Scott Ellis

Ali Stroker

Brooks Ashmanskas, Beth Leavel

Andre De Shields

Joe Iconis