Laura Linney, Cynthia Nixon (Photo: Barry Gordin)



The press room was jammed with nominees in all the categories, along with their publicists and the various media outlets.  TheaterPizzazz was front and center with Sandi Durell doing interviews and Magda Katz on camera to hear what many of the nominees had to say, including Jayne Houdyshell, Emily Skinner, Kate Baldwin, Stephanie J. Block, Jenn Colella, Laurie Metcalf, Christy Altomare, Laura Osnes, Nancy Anderson, Ed Dixon, Gavin Creel, Ari’el Stachel,Nick Cordero, Jon Jon Briones, Nick Blaemire, Brandon Uranowitz, to name a few.  In addition, we interviewed creatives including David Cromer, Jerry Zaks, Warren Carlyle, Denis Jones, Irene Sankoff/David Hein, Gerard Alessandrini, Basil Twist, Mimi Lien, Linda Cho, Justin Townsend, Bradley King . . .whew!


Bobby Cannavale (Photo: Barry Gordin)

Danny DeVito (Photo: Barry Gordin)

John Douglas Thompson (Photo: Magda Katz)

Lynn Nottage Photo: Magda Katz


Lots of talent…who will win on June 4th at Town Hall at the 62 Annual Drama Desk Awards presented by Theatermania?  Michael Urie will host the festivities. Stay tuned for more post June 4!


Interviews/Video Edits: Sandi Durell

Video – On Camera: Magda Katz