The Founding Members of Black Theatre United (BTU) announce the release of their historic New Deal For Broadway, establishing industry-wide standards and reforms around Equity, Diversity, Inclusion, Accessibility & Belonging (EDIAB) with a focus on Black individuals in theatre. Developed from March through August 2021 in a summit organized by Black Theatre United which included key industry leaders across five working groups – theatre owners, producers, unions, creatives and casting directors – Black Theatre United’s New Deal For Broadway is a first of its kind document outlining both short-term reforms to be implemented prior to Broadway’s reopening in Fall 2021 and long-term reforms to be implemented in the next 1-3 years. The document details reforms in the areas of artistic culture, policies and cultural training, pipeline initiatives, audience development and community engagement.

The Black Theatre United commercial summit was funded by a generous grant from the Ford Foundation. The Tiger Baron Foundation provided additional funding.

Passionate and committed, BTU’s founding group of actors, directors, musicians, writers, technicians, producers and stage management includes: Lisa Dawn Cave, Darius de Haas, Carin Ford, Capathia Jenkins, LaChanze, Kenny Leon, Norm Lewis, Audra McDonald, Michael McElroy, Brian Stokes Mitchell, Wendell Pierce, Billy Porter, Anna Deavere Smith, Allyson Tucker, Tamara Tunie, Lillias White, NaTasha Yvette Williams, Schele Williams and Vanessa Williams.

More details & information: Download Black Theatre United’s New Deal For Broadway here: