By Melissa Griegel . . .

Set to open just prior to the Broadway shutdown, Plaza Suite got put on hold until it’s official opening March 28th at the Hudson Theatre on 44th Street. A star-studded red carpet included former Sex and the City castmates, stars of film, stage, and screen, fashion designers, and Mayor Eric Adams.

Starring husband and wife Matthew Broderick and Sarah Jessica Parker, this production marks the first time Broderick and Parker are sharing a Broadway stage since the 1995 revival of How to Succeed in Business Without Really Trying. Broderick is returning to familiar turf with his third Neil Simon play, having won his first Tony Award for creating the role of Eugene Jerome in Simon’s Brighton Beach Memoirs, followed by its sequel, Biloxi Blues.

Danny Bolero
Scott Wittman, Marc Shaiman
Michael McGrath

The comedic play focuses on couples in this humorous and sometimes jarring look at love and marriage. This new production is the first revival of a Neil Simon play following his passing August 2018 at the age 91. He is remembered as one of the most celebrated, successful, and beloved writers in Broadway history having written more than 30 plays and musicals.

The production is directed by Tony Award winner John Benjamin Hickey. The rest of the design team includes two-time Tony Award winner John Lee Beatty (set design), Tony Award winner Jane Greenwood (costume design), five-time Tony Award winner Brian MacDevitt (lighting design), Tony Award winner Scott Lehrer (sound design), Tony Award winner Marc Shaiman (incidental music), and Jim Carnahan (casting director). 

Eric Weigand
Erin Dilly

Plaza Suite stars two-time Tony Award® winner Matthew Broderick and two-time Emmy Award winner Sarah Jessica Parker. The cast also includes Danny Bolero, Drama Desk Award nominee Molly Ranson, and Eric Wiegand. The cast is completed by Tony Award winner Michael McGrath and Tony Award nominee Erin Dilly, who will standby for Broderick and Parker, respectively, in addition to understudies Cesar J. Rosado, Laurie Veldheer, Brian Eng, and Olivia Hernandez.

  • Brian MacDevitt, Jane Greenwood, John Lee Beatty

Some of the stars that came out to celebrate the opening include: Lily Allen, Morena Baccarin and Ben McKenzie, Mikhail Baryshnikov, Reeve Carney and Eva Noblezada, Sarita Choudhury, Andy Cohen, Erin Dilly, Omari Douglas, Rachel Dratch, Claybourne Elder, Myles Frost, Victor Garber, Prabal Gurung, David Harbour and Michael R. Jackson, Norm Lewis, Julianna Margulies, Cynthia Nixon, Ashley Park, Bernadette Peters, Cesar J. Rosado, Jordan Roth, Martin Short, Brenda Vaccaro, , Mare Winningham and Anthony Edwards, Anna Wintour, and Scott Wittman.

Photos by Melissa Griegel Photography