The Theatre World Awards Board of Directors, Dale Badway, President, has announced the 2022 Honorees for the Theatre World Award for an Outstanding Debut Performance in a Broadway or Off-Broadway Production. The historic 76th Annual Theatre World Awards Ceremony returns to a live in-person presentation on the set of the Jeffrey Richards production of the critically acclaimed Broadway Revival of American Buffalo on Monday evening, June 6, 2022 beginning at 7:00 p.m. at Circle in the Square Theatre (1633 Broadway, entrance on West 50th Street). 2022 Honorees for the 13th Annual Dorothy Loudon Award for Excellence in the Theater, and the 9th Annual John Willis Award for Lifetime Achievement in the Theatre will be announced shortly.

Hosted annually by well-known theater journalist, Peter Filichia, the historic 76th Annual Theatre World Awards Ceremony will be produced by Theatre World Awards, Inc. Board of Directors/ Dale Badway. Tom D’Angora and Michael D’Angora will direct the heralded event.

2022 Theatre World Award Honorees
For Outstanding Broadway or Off-Broadway Debut Performance
during the 2021-2022 theatrical season
Patrick J. Adams, Take Me Out
Yair Ben-Dor, Prayer for the French Republic
Kearstin Piper Brown, Intimate Apparel
Sharon D. Clarke, Caroline, Or Change
Enrico Colantoni, Birthday Candles
Justin Cooley, Kimberly Akimbo
Crystal Finn, Birthday Candles
Gaby French, Hangmen
Myles Frost, MJ The Musical
Jacquel Spivey, A Strange Loop
Shannon Tyo, The Chinese Lady
Kara Young, Clyde’s

First presented in 1945, the prestigious Theatre World Awards, founded by John Willis, the Editor-in-Chief of both Theatre World and its companion volume, Screen World, are the oldest awards given for Outstanding Broadway and Off-Broadway Debut Performances. The Theatre World Awards are presented annually at the end of the theatre season to six actors and six actresses for their significant, reviewable, debut performances in a Broadway or Off-Broadway production. The ceremony is a private, invitation-only event followed by a party to celebrate the new honorees and welcome them to the Theatre World “family.” or additional information about the Theatre World Awards, visit

Photos: Sharon D. Clarke, Myles Frost, Jacquel Spivey – Ben Prunchnie/Getty Images – Regina Mogilevskaya – Polk & Co