Monday, April 11, 2016 at the Pierre Hotel saw Theatre Forward‘s 2016 Chairman’s Awards Gala, honoring Jesse Tyler Ferguson and John R. Dutt. The event, hosted by John Cariani (Something Rotten) and with presenters Martha Plimpton and Hannah Elless (Bright Star), featured an opening performance by Kevin Duda and Jason Michael Snow (The Book of Mormon), as well as performances by Matt Gould and Griffin Matthews (Invisible Thread, The Family Project), and Benjamin Scheuer, who performed a number from last year’s Drama Desk Award winning show The Lion.

Five time Emmy nominee Jesse Tyler Ferguson, who is currently starring in the one-man Broadway show, Fully Commited was honored with the Theatre Artist Award.

Former-Vice President/Chief Litigation Counsel for Marsh & McLennan Companies, Inc. and Theatre Forward board member, John R. Dutt was awarded the Theatre Forward Leadership Award.

Other names in attendance from the theater world included Lindsey Brett Carothers, Dee Hoty, Jason Ralph, Justin Mikita, Carmen Cusack and Celia Keenan-Bolger. Theater Pizzazz’s JK Clarke was on hand to photograph the pre-show red carpet.

Theatre Forward was founded by and represents historic, award-winning professional institutions, uniquely positioned for lasting local and national impact. Its theaters were founded to bring the benefits of resident professional theater to local communities.