Nicholas Barasch



The Theatre World Awards, Inc. Board of Directors (Dale Badway, President) has announced the 2016 Theatre World Award Honorees for Outstanding Broadway or Off-Broadway Debut Performance who will be celebrated at the 72nd  Annual Theatre World Awards Ceremony on Monday evening, May 23, 2016 beginning at 7:00 p.m. at Circle in the Square Theatre (West 50th Street, between Broadway and 8th Avenue), home of the current 2015 Tony Award-winning Best Musical, Fun Home. 


Broadway newcomer Nicholas Barasch will be honored with the 8th Annual Dorothy Loudon Award for Excellence in the Theater for his performance as Arpad Lazslo in the Roundabout Broadway revival of She Loves Me at Studio 54.


The Dorothy Loudon Award for Excellence is chosen by the Trustees of The Dorothy Loudon Foundation, Lionel Larner, Executive Director, together with recommendations from the Theatre World Awards Committee.   Past recipients include Leanne Cope, Celia Keenan-Bolger,Jonny Orsini, Susan Pourfar, Seth Numrich, Bobby Steggert, and Susan Louise O’Connor.


2016 Theatre World Award Honorees

Outstanding Broadway or Off-Broadway Debut Performance during the 2015-2016 theatrical season


Danielle Brooks, The Color Purple

Carmen Cusack, Bright Star

Khris Davis, The Royale

Daniel Durant, Spring Awakening

Cynthia Erivo, The Color Purple

John Krasinski, Dry Powder

Sarah Charles Lewis, Tuck Everlasting

Austin P. McKenzie, Spring Awakening

Lupita Nyong’o, Eclipsed

Mark Strong, A View From The Bridge

Ana Villafañe, On Your Feet

Ben Whishaw, The Crucible


2016 John Willis Award for Lifetime Achievement in the Theatre Winner

Bernadette Peters

(previous Winners include Alan Alda, Christopher Plummer, Chita Rivera)


*                    *                      *                     *                     *                     *


Hosted annually by well-known theater journalist, Peter Filichia, the 72nd Annual Theatre World Awards ceremony is produced by Theatre World Awards, Inc. Board of Directors.  Mahoney Asset Management returns as a proud sponsor.


First presented in 1945, the prestigious Theatre World Awards, founded by John Willis, the Editor-in-Chief of both Theatre World and its companion volume, Screen World, are the oldest awards given for Outstanding Broadway and Off-Broadway Debut Performances.   The Theatre World Awards are presented annually at the end of the theatre season to six actors and six actresses for their significant, reviewable, debut performances in a Broadway or Off-Broadway production. The ceremony is a private, invitation-only event followed by a party to celebrate the new honorees and welcome them to the Theatre World “family.” In what has become a highly entertaining and often touching tradition, 12 previous winners serve as the presenters, and often relive moments from past ceremonies and share wonderful stories rarely heard at other theatrical awards.


Previous winners who have won the prestigious Theatre World Award at the beginning of their careers include Meryl Streep, Rosemary Harris, Marlon Brando, Julie Andrews, Christopher Plummer, Anne Bancroft, James Earl Jones, Liza Minnelli, Alan Alda, Zoe Caldwell, Christopher Walken, Alec Baldwin, Bernadette Peters, Audra McDonald, Al Pacino, Grace Kelly, Tom Hanks, Bryan Cranston, and so many more.


The Theatre World Award winners were chosen by the Theatre World Awards committee which is comprised of Roma Torre (NY1), David Cote (Time Out New York and NY1), Joe Dziemianowicz (New York Daily News), Peter Filichia (The Newark Star-Ledger, Emeritus) Harry Haun (Playbill), Matthew Murray (Talkin’ Broadway), and Frank Scheck (The Hollywood Reporter).


The Theatre World Awards, Inc. Board of Directors is headed by Dale Badway (President) with Tom Lynch (Vice-President), Stephen Wilde(Secretary), Tabitha Falcone (Treasurer), Michael Kostel and Ken Mahoney.