Style: "AE_PEOPLE"


The Theatre World Awards Board of Directors, Golden Globe® and three-time Tony® Award-winner and musical theater icon Bernadette Peters will be honored with the prestigious 4 Annual John Willis Award at the 72 Annual Theatre World Awards Ceremony set for Monday evening, May 23, 2016 beginning at 7:00 p.m. at Circle in the Square Theatre home of the current 2015 Tony Award-winning Best Musical, Fun Home.


The John Willis Award is given for lifetime achievement in the theatre to honor the man who created and maintained the Theatre World tradition for 66 years, encouraging new talent in an often challenging business. The John Willis Award is presented annually by the Theatre World Awards, Inc.  Board of Directors to an individual whose lifetime achievements and personal generosity to the Theatre Community merit special recognition and acknowledgement. Previous recipients of the John Willis Award include Alan Alda, Christopher Plummer and Chita Rivera.


Hosted annually by well-known theater journalist, Peter Filichia, the 72 Annual Theatre World Awards ceremony will be produced by Theatre World Awards, Inc. Board of Directors.


2016 Honorees for an Outstanding Performance in a Broadway or Off-Broadway Production, and the 8 Annual Dorothy Loudon Award for Excellence in the Theater, will be announced shortly.


Mahoney Asset Management is returning as a Proud Sponsor of the 72 Annual Theatre World Awards.