Screen Shot 2015-03-17 at 3.58.29 PMScreen Shot 2015-03-17 at 3.57.07 PM

On Monday March 16th, the Pershing Square Signature Center was alive with excitement and sounds of the League of Professional Theatre Women who gathered to celebrate their own in an Annual Award Celebration and BIG MINGLE!


by: Sandi Durell


Some of the theater’s most remarkable women were on hand to present and accept Awards.  The evening, hosted by Tony Award nominee Kristine Nielsen welcomed Pamela Hunt and Maxine Kern Co-Presidents. The Lee Reynolds Award was presented by Dick Scanlan (the token male) to his friend, musical director, orchestrator and arranger in musical theater, Mary-Mitchell Campell, followed by The Ruth Morley Design Award presented by Anna Louizos to Donyale Werle.

In between, Kristine Nielsen provided laughs and comic moments to an eager audience as only she can.

The Josephine Abady Award was presented by Dael Orlandersmith to Sandra A. Daley-Sharif; the LPTW Lucille Lortel Award, was presented by Ellen McLaughlin to Rachel Dickstein.

Kathleen Chalfant was the recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award presented by her long-time friend Sybille Pearson.

The Awards Committee was co-chaired by Joan D. Firestone and Sheila Rae; the LPTW Lucille Lortel Committee by Cara Reichel and Kelli Lynn Harrison.

A buffet followed the festivities in the Frank Gehry-designed lobby cafe.

The League of Professional Theatre Women promotes visibility and increasing opportunities for women in the professional theatre.

Photo montage by Sandi Durell