A Gentleman's Guide to Love & Murder

A Gentleman’s Guide to Love & Murder


Beautiful: Carole King Musical

Beautiful: The Carole King Musical


NY Theater News By Brian Scott Lipton


The Drama League held its 80th Annual Drama League Awards at a star-studded luncheon ceremony hosted by stage and television favorite Jesse Tyler Ferguson at the Marriott Marquis Times Square on Friday, May 16.

In the competitive categories, the following awards were presented: Distinguished Production of a Musical, A Gentleman’s Guide To Love and Murder; Distinguished Play, All The Way;  Distinguished Revival of a Musical, Hedwig and the Angry Inch;  Distinguished Revival of a Play, The Glass Menagerie; and Distinguished Performance, Neil Patrick Harris.

Kelli O'Hara, Jessie Tyler Ferguson

Kelli O’Hara, Jessie Tyler Ferguson

Latanya Richardson Jackson, Denzel Washington

Latanya Richardson Jackson, Denzel Washington



In addition to the competitive categories, legendary singer and actress Barbara Cook was honored with the Distinguished Achievement in Musical Theatre Award in recognition of her contribution to the musical theatre; Key Brand Entertainment/Broadway Across America: John Gore was honored with the Unique Contribution to the Theatre Award for the continuing efforts in promoting live theatre; and John Tiffany was honored with The Founders Award for Excellence in Directing.

Before the presentation, Theater Pizzazz spoke to many of the League’s nominees, past winners, and special guests, including Neil Patrick Harris, Jesse Tyler Ferguson, Audra McDonald, Judith Light, Zachary Quinto, Sutton Foster, Harvey Fierstein, Lynne Meadow, Kelli O’Hara, Jason Robert Brown, Steven Boyer, Mary Bridget Davies, Joshua Henry, James Monroe Iglehart, Latanya Richardson Jackson, Andy Karl, Celia Keenan-Bolger, Adriane Lenox, Sydney Lucas, Jefferson Mays, Margo Seibert, and Jennifer Simard.

*Video: Sandi Durell

Interviews: Brian Scott Lipton