Photos: New Group’s Annual Gala

Monday, March 6, Off-Broadway’s The New Group honored Sutton Foster and Robert J. Rosenberg (recipients of the 2017 Michael Mendelson Award for Outstanding Commitment to Theater) at the company’s Annual Gala at Tribeca Rooftop. Hosted by Mario Cantone, the evening included cocktails, dinner, and a live auction filled with an array of exciting items and one-of-a-kind experiences. Though Sutton Foster could not attend in person, she joined the festivities by video conference.


Theater Pizzazz's JK Clarke was on hand to photograph the red carpet arrivals of noteworthy guests including Matthew Broderick, Wallace Shawn, Peter Dinklage, John Epperson, Josh Hamilton, Cynthia Nixon and Leigh Silverman. See the photo galleries below.

  • Mario Cantone (host)
  • Board of Directors (back row): Adam Bernstein, Serge Nivelle, Scott Elliott; Front: Gala Honoree Robert J. Rosenberg (red tie)
  • Honoree Robert J. Rosenberg and family
  • John Epperson
  • Jonathan Marc Sherman
  • Jonathan Marc Sherman (second from right)
  • Annapurna Sriram
  • Claudia Shear
  • Isabelle Fuhrman
  • Matthew Broderick
  • Erica Schmidt, Peter Dinklage
  • Cynthia Nixon
  • Nikka Graff Lanzarone, Sasha Hutchings, Leigh Silverman, Lori Ann Ferreri
  • Sasha Hutchings
  • Nikka Graff Lanzarone
  • Lori Ann Ferreri
  • Wallace Shawn
  • Joel Perez
  • Derek McLane, Lia Vollack
  • Mario Cantone
  • Jonny Orsini
  • Josh Hamilton, Lily Thorne
  • Lucas Steele
  • David Bar Katz
  • Mary-Mitchell Campbell
  • Lucas Hunt



Photos: JK Clarke