Drama Desk Celebrates 65th Jubilee and the Stars Shine!

By: Sandi Durell
Photos: JK Clarke

The 65th Birthday of the Drama Desk was celebrated last night at Sardi's as members poured in along with Broadway stars and more. Up close and personal were: Annaleigh Ashford, Jefferson Mays, Robert Cuccioli, Michele Lee, Judith Light, John Callum, Reed Birney, Joan Copeland, William Ivey Long, Tonya Pinkins, Randy Jones, Marc Kudisch, Stephen Karam - all previous Drama Desk nominees, winners and friends.

Drama Desk President Charles Wright was on hand to honor Sam Norkin, Drama Desk member and cartoonist famous for his theatrical caricatures, as his widow and daughter proudly looked on.

The Drama Desk was formed in 1949 by a group of New York theater critics, editors, reporters and publishers.